Manitowoc Progressives With malice toward none, with charity for all. — Abraham Lincoln

November 7, 2012

HTR: County votes Republican in national races

Filed under: Uncategorized — rkossik @ 5:31 pm

MANITOWOC — Voters in Manitowoc County chose Republican candidates for president and U.S. senator in Tuesday’s general election, contrary to how the nation as a whole voted in both races.

In Manitowoc County, Republican challengers Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan defeated the Democratic ticket of President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden by a vote of 21,581 to 20,382, according to information from County Clerk Jamie Aulik.

The county also went Republican in the race for the United States Senate seat vacated by longtime Democratic Sen. Herb Kohl who retired. Former Wisconsin Gov. Tommy Thompson received 20,620 votes to U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin’s 19,596 from county voters.

Other vote totals from Manitowoc County, which are final results but prior to the canvas, are as follows:

U.S. House of Representatives, 6th District

• Republican Tom Petri, incumbent – 25,402

• Democrat Joe Kallas – 14,908

State Assembly, 1st District

• Republican Gary Bies, incumbent – 134

• Democrat Patrick Veeser – 97

State Assembly, 2nd District

• Republican Andre Jacque, incumbent – 6,301

• Democrat Larry Pruess – 5,414

State Assembly, 25th District

• Republican Paul Tittl – 13,791

• Democrat Jim Brey – 10,506

State Assembly, 27th District

• Republican Steve Kestell, incumbent – 2,747

• Democrat Steven H. Bauer – 1,708

District Attorney (uncontested)

• Democrat Mark Rohrer – 30,359

County Clerk (uncontested)

• Democrat Jamie John Aulik – 31,860

County Treasurer (uncontested)

• Democrat Cheryl M. Duchow – 30,803

Register of Deeds (uncontested)

• Democrat Preston F. Jones – 31,454

Voter turnout

Voter turnout in Manitowoc County was 68 percent of eligible voters, according to Aulik. That compares to 66 percent in the 2008 presidential election and equals the 68 percent in 2004.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment


Powered by WordPress